Cory stocking?

I'n new here and I just started today, so I am learning the ropes, but I decided to ask a question and start a new thread. I have a ten gallon. beautifully planted with an awesome driftwood chunk, excellent filtration, etc... but I have a male and female endlers livebearer, 7 neon tetras, and a single (yes, I know. horrible:cry:) bronze cory. I have a twenty gallon tank in my garage, but due to space issues, I can't have it set up for about a year or more. I was wondering if this tank is overstocked, and if not, how many cories could I get for him (or her.) Also, I have 5 cherry shrimp which just swim around and do their own thing. will the cory eat the endler's fry? will it eat the eggs of the spawning neon tetras? I have had some experience with pleco's and I HATED them, so now I have moved on (and fallen in love) with cories. however, I can't get rid of the other fish, too.

P.S. how do you get rid of extra tiny particles that can't get sucked up by the filter WITHOUT harming the shrimp? thanks! :D

Lornek8

Apr 21, 2009
Hawaii
Welcome aboard! Come to a plec forum & say you hate plecs? lol.
What filter(s) are you using?
How often & how much water do you change?

Corys typically like being in larger groups or 6 or more, however bronze corys get prety large so a group that size would probably be too large for your current tank. I'd think 3 total would be safe (depending on filtration).

The biggest issue I see with you tank right now is the occupants. Endlers will reproduce with reckless abandon as will the cherry shrimp. Unless you remove some from time to time you'll soon be overstocked in your tank.

Corys will not eat the endlers fry unless the fry are already dead. They will eat the neon eggs though.

You can place a sponge over the inlet of the filter (provided you're using a power filter).