Help, baby Sterbai dying

sammy

May 2, 2012
port elizabeth rsa
My husband and I have been doing the fish thing for about 2-3 years now. We have a 1000 litre tank with a variety of fish among which we have 1 ancistrus, 1 chaestoma, 2 panaque maccus, 2 panda cory, 8 pepper cory and 8 sterbai cory. I love the corydora.

Lately our sterbai have started spawning alot so we moved them to their own tank where they spawn every 2 - 4 weeks. My problem now is getting the fry to survive past 6 weeks. Does anybody have any tips as they are dying daily in batches and its breaking my heart to lose the little guys. Once the eggs hatch ive been keeping them in a 2 litre ice cream dish feeding them liquifry until they about 2-3 weeks old. Tried BBS but they didnt take to it - tried microworm not sure if they taking to that either - after 3 weeks i transfer them to a separate tank and feed them crushed tetra bits and spirulina flake mix. They do fine until they get to 6 weeks plus then they just start dying - all the small ones from subsequent hatchings that are put into that tank survive while the older ones r dying so surely it cant be the water or they would all die?

Any input would be appreciated.

Sorry to do a heavy post on my first time - but desparate times call for desparate measures.

Thanks

Sammy

Lornek8

Apr 21, 2009
Hawaii
Sorry for your losses.
So at 3 weeks the fry are added to the tank, survive to 6 weeks then perish? But any subsequent fry survive until 6 weeks? So you might have fry of age 3 weeks, 4 weeks, 5 week all in the tank and nothing perishes until they reach the 6 week mark?