my albino bristlenose fry dead?????

NEVVBIE

Nov 28, 2009
australia
hmmmm yesterday i did a water change i had about 30-40 fry in a cave with its male protecting them they are free swimming all was cool now this morning i looked cave empty alot of dead clear fry on bottom and maybe 4-5 alive???
i am not sure what i did wrong or this is common with bristlenose im new to breeding these... any help will be great thanks

they are in a 4 ft tank split into 4 and in the other 2 sections also caves with fry in it and the other with egg cluster all ok and 1 batch in a egg tumbler all ok the dividers have holes in them so water flows through all 4 sections...in same tank there is red cherry shimps growing im thinking of getting rid of them give me advice on them also please...

i cant work out why they would all die overnight only a few survived....

Doodles

Retired Staff
Apr 8, 2009
Which section got the water poured in?

Presuming dad was fine too?

How have the temps been and have you added extra aeration if warmer than usual due to summertime?

NEVVBIE

Nov 28, 2009
australia
dad is fine i poured the water in ..the bay next to it i normally do the end to bays... u think maybe the chlorine in the water ???
plenty of airation cause running a filter in each bay similar to sponge filters but in the plastic containers with media in it...
i cant work it out :(

bre

Apr 21, 2009
Newcastle, Australia
u think maybe the chlorine in the water ???
Did you add water ager/conditioner????

Had you warmed the water before adding it, or was it straight from the hose/tap???
How big of a water change?

Cherry Red Shrimp can handle quite dramatic water changes and adult bn's can handle it to a certain extent. But fry are a bit more fragile and need that bit more care taken.