Need some breeding advice

EvilPunkLlama

Jun 4, 2009
www.bubblenestbettas.com
Hey all! I'm a bit new to breeding plecos, but I would really like to give it a shot! I just have a few questions for you guys!

- I'm getting 6 unsexed red marble long fin bristlenose Juvis. they are around 1-1 1/2 inches right now i believe. How old/big to they need to be before they can be sexed?

-How old/big do they need to be before they reach breeding maturity?

-What is a good tank set up for them?

-Can I have other fish with them, of is it best to leave them alone if Im planning to breed them?

-And is a 20gal long tank big enough for a breeding trio?

Thanks in advance guys!

Lornek8

Apr 21, 2009
Hawaii
Hey all! I'm a bit new to breeding plecos, but I would really like to give it a shot! I just have a few questions for you guys!

- I'm getting 6 unsexed red marble long fin bristlenose Juvis. they are around 1-1 1/2 inches right now i believe. How old/big to they need to be before they can be sexed?

Is that 1-1/2" total length or body length? With long-fins this can make an appretiable difference.

-How old/big do they need to be before they reach breeding maturity?

-What is a good tank set up for them?
BNs are bred in all types of setups - bare-bottom/gravel, wood/slate caves, high flow/low flow. With BNs it seems more important to have a compatible pair and adequate caves and they pretty much take care of things themselves.

-Can I have other fish with them, of is it best to leave them alone if Im planning to breed them?
Its generally best to keep the breeding fish by themselves though surface & mid-water oriented fish won't bother them. What you'd like to avoid are other fish that might distract/bother them &/or compete for food or caves.

-And is a 20gal long tank big enough for a breeding trio?
Yes whould be fine.

Thanks in advance guys!

See comments above.
Also, take a look at these articles: