Sexing L002

Irene0100

UK Support Team
May 14, 2009
Norfolk, UK
hi, number 3 is your alpha male. I would say number one is a different species of panaque to the others -belly pattern very different.
others could be females or subordinate males, I am not very good at telling the difference, sorry. non look really gravid so I would feed them up more. what is their diet?
tell me about their tank. how big? temp? water etc, water changes etc.
photo of tank may help

Dayday

Jan 27, 2012
Australia
Thanks Irene, I was wondering why the 1st one's colour didn't change when I took it out of the water. I wonder what breed it is, any ideas??? As I got the lot from 2

They live in a 4 foot tank, bare bottom, with lots of drift wood and a few cherry shrimps. Water conditions are decent. Ph 6.5, dH is 8, temp 26.5. Water changes about 10% every 2-3 days but I drain about 10-15 litres a day.

Running a canister filter, power head and 2 large sponge filters

I feed them either pumpkin, zucchini, and cucumber. I feed them about 4 inches in length worth of cucumber.

I've had them for about 3 years now and still nothing, got them when they were about 5cm.

Attachments

PlecoMM

May 9, 2012
Perth
If you could get close ups of the genital region would be good the males papilla is more smaller and pointed and the female is somewhat fatter. This is what i go by:) but i agree with above and fees up a bit more:)

Bigjohnnofish

Global Moderators
Staff member
Apr 15, 2010
Perth, Western Australia
thats because you have 5 males! :cry::cry::cry: :yes::yes::yes:

theres one dominant male and the rest all look like spare males! prob not what you wanted to hear!

and no1 is either nicely coloured 202 or a 397 IMO... :)

Irene0100

UK Support Team
May 14, 2009
Norfolk, UK
Hi, tank sounds good.