L260 can you sex them?

bigbird

Pleco Profiles Moderator - RIP FRIEND
Sep 9, 2010
Sydney, AUSTRALIA
ok I have attempted to sex each photo, as I am unsure if you wanted 2 photos of each etc as some are same and photo one and photo 2 are I presume a different fish due to photo 2 having a nipped fin and photo one not. So this is for each photo now and not 100%
f,f nipped fin, f snub or crushed nose, f snub or crushed nose, f,f,f,f,m dominant,m same, m,m
hope that helps and wait for more replies. cheers jk :thumbup:

shooter50014

Dec 7, 2011
Des Moines, IA
Yes there are 6 total fish. I tried to take a couple pics of each and also tried to take them in big fish litte fish big fish so I was able to keep them strait for posting. Photo 1 and 2 are same fish and I am not sure what caused it to looked nipped.

Thanks for you imput as I am not very good at sexing yet. In the past I have just bought proven pairs and that takes the guess work out. I havent found anyone selling proven pairs of L260 so this is the way I needed to go.

My thoughts were 1 and 5 were male and the rest could be female. I had thought 3 was a male also but I can see it both ways.

Maybe I am totally off. I staired at these pics last night for about 8 hours and all I could get was confused. lol

your help is greatly appreciated!

Bigjohnnofish

Global Moderators
Staff member
Apr 15, 2010
Perth, Western Australia
i think people are sexing on head shape alone...

nothing looks gravid to me... and none of the fish possess multiple female traits

if these fish are grown up from a single spawn i'd say you have both sexes
if these fish have been sourced from different breeders hence different bloodlines then you could have a lot of males

cant see their cheek odontodes clearly enough to guage their sex....

sorry i cant really give you much better than that....

rickyjjuk

Jun 3, 2009
Suffolk
My best guess is

m
f
m
f
m
m