can my tank support a common pleco

mark134

Oct 6, 2009
PA
hello ive always wanted to have a pleco and now i have a 55g tank i am new at this my readings now are
im adding drops to raise the ph right now
nitrate-20
nitrite-0
hardness-150
chlorine-0
alkalinity-40
PH-6.2

Lornek8

Apr 21, 2009
Hawaii
The pH is fine where it is. Where does the pH start at before you add the drops? I personally don't like using any pH buffers as bad things can happen quickly with those. It is far better to strive for a consistent pH value rather that the "correct" pH value.
I'd recommend a Common Bushynose instead of a Common. A Common will outgrow a 55gallon tank & typically rather quickly at that.

bre

Apr 21, 2009
Newcastle, Australia
I agree with Lorne, it is always better to be consistant rather than having to mess with buffers etc.

I too would avoid purchasing a common pleco for that tank and would much rather opt for a bushynose/bristlenose. There are a few different variants of bristlenose and you would be able to keep a few rather than one common pleco.
Have a look at this link to see the different variants in bristlenose.
http://www.planetcatfish.com/catelog/index.php?task=&genus_id=4&family_id=4

mark134

Oct 6, 2009
PA
ok thank you for the information im going to try to get one of these plecos common pet stores like petco petsmart only sells common plecos im going to go to this place that only sells fish but i need to get someone to take me ill look and see if they have these other plecos

Lornek8

Apr 21, 2009
Hawaii
Definitely see if you can get to a more specialized store. Petco/Petsmart is well-known for not always having thre greatest quality fish.

mark134

Oct 6, 2009
PA
Once i get the pleco what should i feed it. I have algae wafers. or should i use somthing else ?
i hear cucumber is good but do you wait till its bigger to feed it that.what good for smaller young ones

Last edited:

Lornek8

Apr 21, 2009
Hawaii