L002,L260, L066, L411, L201, L316???

phantomfisher

Oct 20, 2009
Bournemouth
Hi,

I am a complete novice in keeping Plecs so I would be grateful for a bit of advice.

I have a new 4' x 2' x 2' planted tank which I finished cycling a couple of weeks ago. The tank has been planted and has plenty of rocks and bog wood on a fine gravel substrate. This tank is a bit of a blank canvas as far as fish are concerned but I would like to keep a selection of small Plecs if possible to gain some experience with these fish.

The tank currently has 5 x Otocinclus Cats, 3 x Whiptale Cats and 4 x very young 1.5" Albino Plecs.

I have had a look at the L list on this site so see what the various Plecs you have look like and they all look fantastic. Which if any of the various young Plecs that you have would be compatible with my existing fish? I have another tank which I could use to re house any of the existing fish that may be a problem.

As I said at the beginning I am a complete Plec novice so your advice would be much appreciated.

Doodles

Retired Staff
Apr 8, 2009
hey, i moved your post into pleco chat as you will get more help plus the classifieds are really just for buying and selling.

4 x very young 1.5" Albino Plecs

Are these bristlenoses?

Doodles

Retired Staff
Apr 8, 2009
Personally if the tank has only just cycled, i would give it a change to 'establish' for a while longer with the existing fish. The last thing you want to do is upset the balance and start having water problems.

What are the tank parameters now?
ammonia
nitrite
nitrate
ph
hardness

Lornek8

Apr 21, 2009
Hawaii
First off would be to ID your albino plecs. There are a few available in the hobby & one in particular gets huge. The reason for a quick ID is for a couple of reasons, #1 if they indeed get huge, you can get rid of them before they get huge & are easier to return or #2 a better list of compatible tankmates can be compiled.

Doodles

Retired Staff
Apr 8, 2009