What plant am I?

xingu

Apr 26, 2009
DXB
Can someone tell me what this is?

I have planted it by individual stems after FF's advice in my Pico.

I also bought some ferts today, JBL ferrpol 24, will that get it to grow?

Can I expect it to carpet or grow upwards?

Thanks in advance, I don't do plants!

Art_Gal

Jun 23, 2011
New Jersey
Off the top of my head, my guess would have been either some type of Glossostigma or Dwarf Baby Tears. But I am no plant expert by far! If you posted the pic on www.plantedtank.net someone might be able to identify it for you. And it does look like a carpet plant to me.

I'm going with Glossostigma :D

SS317

Jan 14, 2011
Nsw
I'd be 99% that it's Glossostigma, I had a heap of it as a mat in one of my tanks years ago. With strong light it will stay low and grow well, but I never tried it with out co2.

FF MkII

Retired Staff
Apr 28, 2009
North Yorks
Glossostigma it is..... A lot of light needed otherwise it grows leggy, co2 is also welcomed. A pretty hard species to grow

xingu

Apr 26, 2009
DXB
Thanks everyone, will see how the current set up works before venturing down the co2 route, not sure I can be arsed!

xingu

Apr 26, 2009
DXB
Am having real trouble getting this to root in my substrate, I come home and a lot of it is floating at the top of the tank.

I have an idea, could I use a piece of netting to put the plant through and then bury this under a layer or sunstrate?

Can anyone think of any long term issues with have the net (from a fish net) submerged under there?

Tener ds

Mar 22, 2010
Crawley (uk)
what about fine metal mesh?
i have some in my edge with some flame moss growing on it.
looks good and is sinking into the sand.

xingu

Apr 26, 2009
DXB
what about fine metal mesh?
i have some in my edge with some flame moss growing on it.
looks good and is sinking into the sand.
My gut feeling is that long term a plastic net will be less harmful than metal but happy to be corrected :dk:

xingu

Apr 26, 2009
DXB