novice

sdleigh

Jan 9, 2011
Barnsley
Im a complete novice at shrimp, and starting to research on keeping them. I have read the new setup guide on here, and just want some direction of what to look into reading and getting, to setup a very small shrimp tank? i have: a 11ltr(3usgal) tank (13Lx6.5Wx8H")... whats the ideal amount of shrimp for this size (1 or 2 or what??? lol), small25w heater, an option of a Fluval 1plus filter pump, AquaOne HOB filter, or a small air filter...which would you suggest i use? i know your going to say air filter, so ill have to buy another airpump, no problemo. my tap water stands at 7.3ph and around 8~12 gh 6~10 kh. what shrimp thrive in these conditions (or what would i have to change to to get the cons just right)?

Substrate i have spare are: Play sand, Crushed coral (will raise ph), gravel. i would like to use playsand as i love the look of it.

Live plants i was thinking large-ish amount of Christmas moss/Java Moss and maybe 1 small plant, i dont want to use a co2 canister, would the previous be ok without one, what would you suggest?

Thanks for any replies i get :D

FF MkII

Retired Staff
Apr 28, 2009
North Yorks
i would use the HOB personally, less space in the tank. you could get away with a few shrimp i guess. play sand would be good but dont have it deep unless you intend to turn it over.

bigbird

Pleco Profiles Moderator - RIP FRIEND
Sep 9, 2010
Sydney, AUSTRALIA
remember with 11liters, once you use sand, rocks etc, the actual amount of water will be around 9liters. In my view not enough, I prefer min 20liters . Use HOB , heater the smallest. Also realise when you do a water change, that temp and water should be roughly the same, as shrimp are very temp fussy. I would place in there 4shirmp, that should be fine. cheers jk :thumbup:

sdleigh

Jan 9, 2011
Barnsley
Nice one, cheers guys, what kind of shrimp woupd suit my water conditions as they are? So i k.ow what ro read up on. Cheers again

dw1305

Global Moderators